Grab Some Inspiration

kids

This post is inspired by the one over at Zen Habits last week – mainly because I disagree with the  #2 item: the Bible is  inspirational. A (debatable) history lesson, yes. Inspirational, no. There might be inspiration in the Bible, but it’s not for me.

So without further ado, here’s my list of places I go for inspiration:

  1. A walk by myself. Instant inspiration
  2. A run. As with walking, instant inspiration
  3. Out bush (nature) and lots of it.
  4. Silence, and lots of it
  5. A long drive
  6. The shower or bath
  7. Writing
  8. Getting inside my head, into my imagination
  9. Reading
  10. Websites like Hip Tranquil Chick, Anecdote, Zen Habits, The Art of Non-Conformity and The Fluent Self
  11. Music that tells stories (like Delerium’s amazing album, Karma)
  12. My partner (who is wise, compassionate, caring and intelligent)
  13. My children
  14. Thinking about my own achievements
  15. Thinking about the difficulties I’ve overcome in my life
  16. Talking to great friends
  17. Reading The Snow Leopard
  18. A bookshop
  19. A library
  20. Camping with friends
  21. Planning for the future
  22. Talking through my wildest dreams with my partner
  23. Being on a houseboat
  24. Travelling overseas
  25. The desert
  26. Mountains
  27. Steve Jobs’s Stanford talk (although Steve Jobs does behave like a tosser by some accounts)
  28. Watching movies like Hotel Rwanda
  29. Reading stories by people who overcome incredible obstacles
  30. Mountain climbing literature
2 thoughts on “Grab Some Inspiration

Leave a Reply

